Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

IWSC results out

Published:  23 July, 2008

The International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC) announced its 2006 trophy winners last week (20 July), with a Canadian Shiraz - 2004 Jackson-Triggs Grand Reserve Shiraz - scooping the Rosemount Trophy for Shiraz/Syrah, and an English sparkling wine, 1998 Nyetimber Classic Cuvee, being hailed as the world's best sparkling wine' after winning the Yarden Trophy for Bottled Fermented Sparkling Wine.

The IWSC reported a record number of entries - 6,000 - with the number of participating countries rising to 73 this year (including Mongolia). The Scotch whisky category achieved a new record with more than 300 products. Entries as a whole increased by 16%.

South Africa was the top trophy winner with five: 2005 Stormhoek Pinotage (winning the KWV Trophy for Pinotage); 2001 Meerlust Rubicon (Chteau Pichon Longueville Comtesse de Lalande Trophy for Blended Red Wine); 2003 Saxenburg Private Collection Cabernet Sauvignon (Warren Winiarski Trophy for Cabernet Sauvignon); 2005 Nederburg Noble Late Harvest (De Bortoli Trophy for Botrytis Wine); and 2004 Bellingham The Maverick Chenin Blanc (Spier Trophy for Chenin Blanc).

The Frescobaldi Trophy for Vintage Red Wine (more than five years) and the Winecorp Trophy for Merlot were both won by French wines (2001 Chateau d'Aiguilhe, Ctes de Castillon, and 2003 L'Egregore, Les Domaines Magrez Internationaux) - the first time for a number of years, that the competition has had French winners, according to the competition organisers.

Australia was the overall country winner with 30 golds, 107 silvers and 269 bronzes, followed by South Africa and France (see below). In spirits, Scotland came top, followed by France and South Africa

Winners of the Wolf Blass Winemaker of the Year, the Gallo Family Vineyards European Retailer of the Year and the V&S Distiller of the Year will be announced at the IWSC awards banquet on 31 October at Old Billingsgate.

For a full run down go to: