Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

France dominates the Sommelier Wine Awards 2014

Published:  29 May, 2014

France took home a total of 366 medals and commendations in this year's Sommelier Wine Awards, with nearly 100 more accolades than the runner up Italy, which took home 267.

Italy was awarded 267 medals and commendations, followed by Spain which had a total 153, Chile took home 140 and Australia took home 121.  England captured five gold medals, eight silver medals and had a total of 35 medals and commendations.

France had a total of 48 gold medals, 123 silver medals and 95 bronze medals. Of Spain's 21 gold medals, seven of them came Rioja, indicating that the styles and price points make wines from Rioja a must have on most wine lists.

Bulgaria has been showing some potential as an upcoming region that will most likely become more familiar on the UK on-trade.  Bulgaria took home three golds out of the eight medals it received and seven 'commended' wines.

Chile over took Australia in the new world category taking home a total of 140 medals and commendations.  However, Australia took home 24 gold medals compared to Chile's 18, with Chardonnay being a favourite.

SWA also awarded Boutinot as the Merhcant of the Year and Bibendum Wine was awarded for General Excellence.

 The number of entries for the SWA awards rose by 24% in 2014 over the previous year.

The Sommelier Wine Awards began in 2007 and focuses entirely on wines that are offered in the on-trade only, wines found in the High Street supermarkets are not permitted to enter.  The awards are judged by leaders in the UK hotel, restaurant and sommelier circuits.

The awards are split into three categories, the 'Essentials', Old World and New World.  The Essentials category covers sparkling, house wine these include sub-categories of red, white and rose and must sell for under £5.50, rosé, varietal classics which are staples of all wine lists that sell under £12, sweet and fortified.