Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.


Published:  23 July, 2008

By Emily Oakes

Nyetimber Vineyard was again victorious at the 30th English and Welsh Wine of the Year competition, winning the Gore-Browne Trophy for the best wine in the competition for its 1996 Premire Cuve Blanc de Blancs. The same wine also picked up the award for best wine of any other year's vintage and the award for best sparkling wine. The Sussex-based producer also won the award for best wine produced in excess of 10,000 litres, with its 1996 Classic Cuve. Other awards were won by Valley Vineyards, for best oaked white wine (1999 Valley Vineyards Fum), and Denbies, for 2003 Wine Estate Rose Hill for best still ros wine. The best single-varietal wine was English Wine Group's 2002 Curious Grape Pinot Noir, and it also won the award for best red wine in the competition. Three Choirs Vineyards, the venue for the event, was given the awards for best wine produced in smaller quantities and best wine of the previous year's vintage. In all, 136 of the 160 wines entered won an award.