Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

WSET holds fourth annual Awards & Graduation Ceremony

Published:  26 January, 2011

The Wine & Spirit Education Trust held its fourth annual Awards & Graduation Ceremony to celebrate the success of the top performing 2009/10 WSET students and diploma graduates.

The WSET announced a 9% year-on-year increase in student numbers.

The Vintners' Cup (for the highest aggregate mark in the Diploma examination) went to Charlotte Edgecombe of the Bibendum restaurant, and the Riedel WSET Educator of the Year Trophies were awarded to Laithwaites for the UK, and the Sydney Wine Academy for the International Educator of the Year.

It was also formerly announced that Jancis Robinson MW, is to take Hugh Johnson's place as honorary president next year.

Ian Harris, chief executive said: "On behalf of all the 27,500 students who have taken a WSET program in the past 12 months, I would like to place on record my gratitude to the entire WSET team, and also to the past, present and future honorary presidents of WSET who make this ceremony such a prestigious event in the wine industry's calendar".

The date for the next WSET Awards & Graduation Ceremony has been set for January 23, 2012.