Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

EWP and UKVA to merge to form one unified UK wine body

Published:  04 July, 2017

The two organisations responsible for representing the needs and interests of the UK wine industry are pooling their resources, it has been announced.

Today, the vote was taken to merge the United Kingdom Vineyards Association (UKVA) and English Wine Producers (EWP), into a united national trade body which will act as a “single voice” for British vineyard owners and winemakers.

It has been revealed that the name of the new body will be UK Wine Producers Ltd (UKWP), and will act under a newly appointed board lead by Simon Robinson, currently chairman of EWP.

Robinson, of Hattingley Valley Wines, said today that merger comes at a “key point” in the growth of the industry, and said that the next step was to build a rapport with policy makers in order to drive the industry forward. 

“The vote that our members have taken today demonstrates a proactive and shared optimism in the future of English and Welsh wines and the many opportunities that lie ahead for us all. There is lots of work to be done – not least to reinforce our position with government and to build on the many services that we can deliver to all members,” he said.

He also pointed to future potential for the body to “build a strong generic brand” for English and Welsh wines alongside growing opportunities for tourism, exports, research and training.

The new body will represent wineries and vineyards of all sizes, and will cover all aspects of winemaking in England and Wales, including regulation, legislation, education, growing tourism, and promotion of the industry at home and abroad.

The vote was taken at each of the industry bodies’ AGMs earlier today (July 4), and the merger will go ahead officially in the next few weeks.

In the interim, UKVA and EWP will continue to function as separate bodies but work closely together within the new structure, representatives said.

As part of the merger agreement, a new board has been created to represent the body and its members. They are:

Simon Robinson (Chairman) – Hattingley Valley Wines

Peter Gladwin (Deputy Chairman) – Nutbourne Vineyards

Barry Lewis (Chief Executive)- Amber Valley Wines

Mark Driver – Rathfinny Wine Estate

Guy Howard – Giffords Hall Vineyard

Tim Ingram-Hill – Southcott Vineyard

Tamara Roberts – Ridgeview Wine Estate

Frazer Thompson – Chapel Down Wines

Bruce Tindale – High Clandon Vineyard