Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.


Published:  23 July, 2008

Advanced Certificate Awards for the 2001/2002 academic year have been announced by the Wine & Spirit Education Trust, following viva voce exams in London on 25 September. Harpers' Neil Beckett, one of this year's examiners, said he was impressed by both the rigour of the examination procedure and the generally high calibre of the 30 candidates. The winners are: Roriki Hutchinson (Pagendam Pratt), The David Burroughs Scholarship; Alison Graham (Maxxium UK Ltd), Penelope Boothman (Savage Selection Ltd) and Philip Carpenter (Blackwell Publishing Ltd), The Vintners' Bursaries; William Evans (freelance wine writer), The Oddbins Scholarship; Camilla Bordewich (Majestic Wine), The Port Wine Award; Philippa Wright (The Neal Street Restaurant), The Cava & Peneds Wine Institute Bursary; Mark Stacey (Oddbins), The Incorporation of Coopers of Glasgow Scholarship; George Horton and Paul Bartley (non trade) The Decanter Magazine Prizes.