Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

International Wine Challenge reveals shortlist for Champion Wine awards

Published:  19 May, 2014

The full shortlist of wines from around the world that will be competing for Champion Wines of the Year in the International Wine Challenge 2014 have been revealed.

An award for the best overall red, white, sparkling and fortified from the thousands of wines entered will be announced at the IWC Awards Dinner on July 16 at London's Grosvenor House hotel.

Each wine shortlisted has already been awarded a national trophy by the competition which means it has already been singled out at the best wine in that category for the country.

Charles Metcalfe, co-chairman of the IWC, said of the shortlisted Champion wines: "Choosing our Champion wines is the highlight of the competition. We've tasted thousands of wines and now have our shortlist for Champions across each different category. The shortlist consists of some exquisite examples from all around the world competing against each other."

The following wines are shortlisted for the Champion wine Awards:

Champion White

  • Amalaya Blanco de Corte 2013 by Bodega Amalaya (Argentina)
  • Robert Bowen 2011 by Domaines & Vineyards (Australia)
  • Riesling Leiten Kremstal DAC Reserve 2012 by Weingut Müller (Austria)
  • Cono Sur Reserva Especial Sauvignon Blanc 2013 by Viña Cono Sur S.A. (Chile)
  • Santa Lucia Malvazija 2006 by Kozlovic Winery (Croatia)
  • Corton Charlemagne Grand Cru 2011 by Domaine de la Vougeraie (France)
  • Escherndorf am Lumpen Riesling GG 2012 by Weingut Horst Sauer (Germany)
  • Sigalas Aidani 2013 by Sigalas Gasparis (Greece)
  • Tokaji Szamorodni 2007 by Obzidián Bormanufaktúra (Hungary)
  • La Rocca 2011 by Soc. Agr. Pieropan (Italy)
  • Pask Declaration Chardonnay 2012 by Pask Winery (New Zealand)
  • Campolargo 2011 by Manuel dos Santos Campolargo, Herdeiros (Portugal)
  • Constantia Glen TWO 2013 by Constantia Glen (South Africa)
  • Altos de Torona 2013 by Bodegas Altos De Torona (Spain)

Champion Red

  • Unánime 2009 by Bodegas Santa Ana (Argentina)
  • Shiraz  2012 by Shaw + Smith (Austalia)
  • Quintessential 2011by Church & State Wines (Canada)
  • Terroir Hunter Syrah Leyda 2011 by Viña Undurraga (Chile)
  • Clos de la Roche Grand Cru 2012 by Jean Claude Boisset (France)
  • Campolongo di Torbe Amarone Classico della Valpolicella 2007 by Masi (Italy)
  • Crossroads Winemakers Collection Syrah 2012 by Yealands Wine Group (New Zealand)
  • Quinta dos Roques 2011 by Quinta dos Roques (Portugal)
  • Saronsberg Shiraz 2011 by Saronsberg Cellar (South Africa)
  • El Meson Gran Reserva 2004 by El Coto de Rioja (Spain)

Champion Sparkling

  • Grand Vintage 2004 by House Of Arras (Austalia)
  • Nyetimber Classic Cuvée 2009 by Nyetimber (England)
  • Piper-Heidsieck Rare Millésimé 2002 by Piper-Heidsieck (France)
  • Vittorio Moretti  2006 by Bellavista (Italy)
  • AA Privat Laietà Gran Reserva Brut Nature 2010 by Alta Alella (Spain)

Champion Sweet

  • Gelber Muskateller Schilfwein 2008 by Hans Tschida (Austria)
  • Riesling Icewine 2012 by Inniskillin (Canada)
  • Escherndorfer Lump Riesling Trockenbeerenauslese 2012 by Weingut Horst Sauer (Germany)
  • Royal Tokaji 5 puttonyos Aszú 2009 by Royal Tokaji Borászati Zrt (Hungary)
  • Solone Colli Euganei Fior d'Arancio Passito  2008 by Fattoria Monte Fasolo (Italy)
  • Vin de Constance 2008 by Klein Constantia Estate (South Africa)

Champion Fortified

  • Morris Old Premium Rare Liqueur Tokay NV by Morris Wines (Australia)
  • 30 Year Old Aged Tawny by Graham's (Portugal)
  • Justino's Madeira Verdelho 1934 by Justinos, Madeira Wines, S.A. (Portugal)
  • Palo Cortado 20 Year Old Solera Especial by Williams & Humbert (Spain)

You can see the full list of winners in the IWC 2014 by going to its website at: