Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

Oz Clarke to co-chair IWC

Published:  25 March, 2010

Oz Clarke is to join the 2010 International Wine Challenge (IWC) judging panel as co-chairman.

The global wine expert and TV personality will sit alongside current co-chairmen Tim Atkin MW, Sam Harrop MW, Charles Metcalfe, Derek Smedley MW and this year's overseas co-chairman Victor de la Serna from Spain.

IWC event director, Chris Ashton said: "Having Oz as one of the IWC's co-chairmen strengthens our senior team, and makes it an even more formidable line-up.

"We're now in our 27th year and will soon begin the annual task of selecting the world's best wines from the 46 different countries that have submitted wines into this year's competition.''

The IWC is the world's most prestigious wine competition with 400 experienced judges, including many Masters of Wine.

Oz Clarke said: "I feel as though I am moving back into the bosom of the family. Long ago we all set out to change the world of wine and make it a better place. Every year the IWC continues the quest, and I'm delighted they've asked me back to shoulder some of the burden. I've just been to my dentist to prepare my teeth for the task."

Medal winners of the challenge will be announced on May 18, at the London International Wine Trade Fair at Excel.