Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

Liquid Icons unveils Golden Vines Awards

Published:  17 October, 2022

Liquid Icons, the fine wine company founded by the late Gérard Basset MS and Lewis Chester, put on a lavish show in Florence this month, awarding Golden Vines Awards to a host of internationally renowned wineries.

Organised by Liquid Icons to raise funds for the Gérard Basset Foundation, the charity seeks to finance diversity and inclusion-related education programmes in the wine, spirits and hospitality sector. The star-studded event involved a three-day fine dining and entertainment experience in Florence, held from 14 -16 October 2022.

Headline winners of the 2022 Golden Vines Awards included California's Ridge Vineyards, awarded the 2022 Golden Vines Best Fine Wine Producer in the Americas. Meanwhile, the 2022 Golden Vines Best Fine Wine Producer in the Rest of the World accolade was given to Australia's Penfolds, while Sadie Family Wines, in Swartland, were bestowed the Golden Vines World’s Best Rising Star Award.

“To mark the second year of these prestigious awards, launched in September 2021 at Annabel’s Private Members Club, we decided to introduce a new award category for sustainability, reflecting future-facing contributions to global fine wine and spirit craftsmanship,” said Chester.

“We are absolutely delighted to recognise such an extraordinary calibre of fine wines, their producers, protagonists and industry supporters with The 2022 Golden Vines Awards,” he added.

During the awards ceremony, hosted by Ronan and Storm Keating, guests were treated to a five course dinner cooked by 3 Michelin-star chef Massimo Bottura and his team from Osteria Francescana.

The paired menu included Dom Pérignon P2, Dom Pérignon Rosé, Trimbach Clos Sainte Hune, Château Cheval Blanc, Château d’Yquem in Magnum and Richard Hennessy cognac.

In addition, the winners of the 2022 Golden Vines Diversity Scholarships in wine and spirits were officially awarded their bursaries, worth £55,000 each. The winners were: Jarret Buffington from Australia; Sandeep Ghaey from United States; and Carrie Rau from Canada.