Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

Riesling Fellowship adds two new members at gala dinner

Published:  29 January, 2016

A group of leading German Riesling producers gathered at Vintners' Hall in London last night for a gala dinner to celebrate the tenth anniversary of Generation Riesling.

The event, which was also attended by key figures in the UK and international wine trade, saw two new members inducted into the Riesling Fellowship as recognition for their work in communicating their passion for Riesling.

The recipients of the awards were New Yorker Paul Grieco and Rotterdam's Albert de Jong.

Grieco has run numerous events promoting Riesling in the US, most notably his long-running Summer of Riesling series which was launched in 2008.

De Jong is a wine writer with over three decades of experience in the industry. He previously won the prestigious Pro Riesling award for journalism in 2010.

Generation Riesling is a group of innovative young German winemakers who act as ambassadors for the German wine industry, and Riesling producers in particular.

The dinner was preceded by a tasting and a seminar discussing the impact of Generation Riesling on the German wine trade, which featured Stefan Winter from Weingut Winter, Jan Eymael from Weingut Pfeffingen and Alexander Pflüger from Weingut Pflüger.

The producers featured in the tasting included Privatkellerei Hirsch, Weingut Emmerich-Koebernik, Weingut Jesuitenhof and Weingut Weigand.

Monika Reule, chief executive of the German Wine Institute, which hosted the event alongside Wines of Germany, said: "The Riesling Fellowship is honoured to help celebrate a decade of Generation Riesling and to thank those members of the trade whose passion and dedication has been instrumental in spreading the message of German Riesling.

"To date we have appointed nine fellows and we are delighted to add a further two members to the fold this year, bringing our number to 11. A huge congratulations to the new fellows."

Previous recipients of the award include Jancis Robinson OBE MW, Hugh Johnson OBE, Sebastian Thomas and Stuart Pigott.