Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

Educators from UK to India celebrated in WSET nominations

Published:  19 November, 2018

Educators which have taken up the WSET mantle to bring wine and spirits education to the world are being celebrated today following nominations for 2018.

The Wine & Spirit Education Trust (WSET) has announced the shortlist of nominees for its prestigious WSET Educator of the Year Award 2018.

The list includes WSET approved programme providers (APPs) from all over the world, from the West London Wine School to Tulleeho Portals in India.

WSET chief executive Ian Harris said the list represents “exemplary educators” which have stood out over the past year for their commitment to bringing drinks education to both consumers and the trade.

“We are proud to see our APPs and educators across the world developing new strategies to expand their business and encourage more professionals and consumers to reap the benefits that wine and spirits education can offer,’ he said.

Harris will head up the panel of judges alongside Richard Bampfield MW, Laura Jewell MW of Wine Australia and Matt Knight of sponsors Riedel UK.

Nominees from the UK include Cornwall’s Truro College, which was picked out for its success with the south west’s hospitality sector over the past year.

By securing funding and engaging with local hospitality businesses, the college has grown candidate numbers significantly, the WSET said, praising its work in what is often thought as a challenging region due to geography and economics.

As usual, a mixture of APPs and individual educators certified by the WSET apear on the list. 

The full list for 2018 comprises: Adam Chase DipWSET, director of Grape Experience (USA); Caplan Corporation (Japan); Get Wine Smart (Australia); Republic National Distributing Company (USA); Truro College (UK); Tulleeho Portals (India); West London Wine School (UK)

The winner will be announced at the WSET Awards and Graduation ceremony at London’s Guildhall on 21 January.

Top photo shows last year's winners of the WSET Educator of the Year Award, from L-R Matt Knight of Riedel UK, Paulo Brammer and Thiago Mendes of Eno Cultura, WSET Honorary President Steven Spurrier.