Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

Sam Neill leads strong line up New Zealand trophy winners at IWC 2014

Published:  14 May, 2014

Sam Neill, the winemaking film actor, leads the strong line-up of eight Trophy winners from New Zealand announced today by the International Wine Challenge.

Following the two gold medals he won last week, Neill has now received a Trophy for his Last Chance Pinot Noir 2010 made at his Two Paddocks winery in Central Otago.

The overall New Zealand Pinot Noir Trophy went to the The Mud House Estate Claim 431 Central Otago Pinot Noir by Mud House Estate. Wollaston Estates also won a Trophy for its Woollaston Pinot Noir 2012.

New Zealand will also be celebrating today the fact TerraVin Wines in Marlborough has won the International Sauvignon Blanc Trophy for its TerraVin Te Ahu Sauvignon Blanc 2011.

Pernond Ricard New Zealand also received a Sauvignon Blanc Trophy for its Stoneleigh Latitude Sauvignon Blanc.

The New Zealand Trophy for Chardonnay went to the Pask Winery for its Pask Declaration Chardonnay 2012.  The Waipura Springs Premo Chardonnay 2012 received a regional Chardonnay Trophy.

The New Zealand Syrah Trophy was won by Yealands in Hawkes Bay for its Crossroads Winemakers Collection Syrah 2012.

Charles Metcalfe, co-chairman of the IWC, said of New Zealand's overall performance: "The New Zealand trophy winners really blew us away at this year's competition. The TerraVin Te Ahu 2011 triumphed over hundreds of global contenders to pick up the International Sauvignon Blanc trophy and is truly stunning. Typically known for its Pinot Noir and Sauvignon Blanc, it was wonderful to see other varieties picking up the top prizes."

The trade will have to wait until the IWC awards dinner on July 16 at London's Grosvenor Hotel to find out who has won the Champion wines for red, white, sparkling, fortified and sweet.

You can see the full set of IWC Trophy and medal winners at