Subscriber login Close [x]
remember me
You are not logged in.

Burgundy way out in front as France picks up 28 IWC 2014 trophies

Published:  14 May, 2014

Wine producers across Burgundy have been awarded 17 out of the 28 trophies awarded across France in the International Wine Challenge 2014.

France was by far the best performing wine producing country at IWC 2014 with its 28 trophies outstripping its closest rival, Australia, which won 19 trophies.

France was also awarded with five of the overall International varietal trophies for wines that were seen as the best across the world by the IWC judges.

These went to:

* International Chardonnay Trophy:  Domaine de la Vougeraie for its Corton-Charlemagne Grand Cru 2011.

* International Pinot Noir Trophy: Jean Claude Boisset and The Clos de la Roche Grand Cru 2012.

* International Syrah Trophy: Soulane Saint Joseph Rouge 2011 by Domaine du Mortier.

* International Chenin Trophy: Château de Targé Les Fresnettes 2012 by Scea Edouard Pisani-Ferry.

* International Gewürztraminer Trophy: Alsace Willm for produced the Gewürztraminer Grand Cru Kirchberg de Barr Clos Gaensbroennel 2012.

But it was Burgundy that took the most plaudits for its haul of 17 trophy winners which is more than double its performance in 2013 with eight trophies.

Seven of the 17 trophies went to Domaine de la Vougeraie, the highest number to be awarded to a single producer in the competition. It received two white wine trophies and five red wine trophies.

Champagne won four trophies with Piper-Heidsieck receiving the top award of French Sparkling Trophy for its Rare Millésimé 2002. Champagne Henriot's Brut Souverain NV was awarded the trophy for Non Vintage Champagne. Charles Heidsieck received a trophy for its Rosé Reserve NV and for its 1999 Rosé Millésimé.

Rhône producers won four trophies between them.

Charles Metcalfe, co-chairman of the IWC, said of France's overall winning performance: "No other country can get close to France in terms of the quality of wine produced across various styles. These French trophy winning wines are elegant, balanced and simply stunning. Year on year, French winemakers demonstrate true class and mastery of their craft.  The International Trophy winners have beaten thousands of contenders from all over the world."

See below for full list of French Trophy winners;

  • Gewürztraminer Grand Cru Kirchberg de Barr Clos Gaensbroennel 2012 by Alsace Willm: Alsace Gewürztraminer Trophy and International Gewürztraminer Trophy
  • Savigny les Beaune 2012 by Bouchard Ainé Et Fils: Savigny-lès-Beaune Trophy
  • Corton Charlemagne Grand Cru 2011 by Domaine de la Vougeraie: Corton-Charlemagne Trophy, White Burgundy Trophy, International Chardonnay Trophy and French White Trophy
  • Vougeot 1er cru Le Clos Blanc de Vougeot 2011 by Domaine de la Vougeraie:Vougeot Trophy
  • Nuits St Georges 1er cru Clos de Thorey 2012 by Domaine de la Vougeraie:Nuits Saint Georges Trophy
  • Charmes Chambertin "Les Mazoyères" Grand Cru 2012 by Domaine de la Vougeraie: Charmes Chambertin Trophy
  • Bonnes Mares Grand Cru 2012  by Domaine de la Vougeraie: Bonnes Mares Trophy
  • Clos de Vougeot Grand Cru 2012, Domaine de la Vougeraie: Clos de Vougeot Trophy
  • Corton Le Clos du Roi Grand Cru 2012 Domaine de la Vougeraie: Corton Trophy
  • Vosne Romanée 1er Cru Clos des Réas Monopole 2012 by Domaine Michel Gros: Vosne Romanée Trophy
  • Clos de la Roche Grand Cru 2012 by Jean Claude Boisset: Clos de la Roche Trophy, Red Burgundy Trophy, International Pinot Noir Trophy and French Red Trophy
  • Chablis 1er Cru Montée de Tonnerre 2012 by La Chablisienne : Chablis 1er Cru Trophy
  • Chablis Grand Cru Château Grenouilles 2010 by La Chablisienne: Chablis Grand Cru Trophy
  • Loron, Pouilly Fuissé Les vieux Murs Réserve Caveau Veilles Vignes 2009 by Maison Jean: Pouilly Fuissé Trophy
  • Puligny Montrachet 2012 by Pierre André: Puligny Montrachet Trophy
  • Chassagne Montrachet 2012 by Pierre André Chassagne Montrachet Trophy
  • Pommard 1er Cru Clos de La Commaraine 2012 by Pierre André: Pommard Trophy
  • Meursault 2012 by Reine Pedauque: Meursault Trophy
  • Rosé Reserve NV by Champagne Charles Heidsieck: Rosé NV Champagne Trophy
  • Rosé Millésime 1999 Champagne Charles Heidsieck; Vintage Rosé Champagne Trophy
  • Brut Souverain NV by Champagne Henriot: White NV Champagne Trophy
  • Rare Millésimé 2002 by Piper-Heidsieck: Vintage Champagne Trophy
  • Vérité Viognier 2012 by Laurent Miquel: Languedoc Viognier Trophy and French Viognier Trophy
  • Château de Targé Les Fresnettes 2012 by Scea Edouard Pisani-ferry: Loire Chenin Blanc Trophy, International Chenin Blanc Trophy
  • Colombo & Fille Cornas 2012 by Colombo & Fille: Cornas Trophy
  • Delas Côte-Rôtie Seigneur de Maugiron 2011 by Delas Frères:  Côte Rôtie Trophy
  • Saint Joseph Rouge Soulane 2011 by Domaine du Mortier: St Joseph Trophy, Rhône Trophy, French Syrah Trophy and International Syrah Trophy
  • Crozes-Hermitage La Petite Ruche 2012 by M. Chapoutier: Crozes-Hermitage Trophy

Visit the IWC website for the full list of winners: